Literary Award Winners for 2010

American Library Association announces literary award winners!  

* John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: 
"When You Reach Me,” written by Rebecca Stead. Published by Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books.

* Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children:
"The Lion & the Mouse,” illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney. Published by Little, Brown and Company Books for Young Readers.

* Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:
Going Bovine,” written by Libba Bray. Published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House.

* Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:
“Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal,” written by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson. Published by Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group, Inc.

* Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book:
Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!,” written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes. Published by TOON BOOKS, a division of RAW Junior, LLC.

* Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children:
Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream,” written by Tanya Lee Stone. Published by Candlewick Press.

* Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video:
Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!,” by Paul R. Gagne and Mo Willems

There are more awards to see. Visit the link above to view the entire list. Did your predictions come true? I shall read the Lion and the Mouse for sure!

Congratulations to all the #alayma winners and those who were considered! SO inspiring!!!!

Warmest Regards,

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Print Friendly and PDF

Post a Comment

As always, so nice to hear from you!